Back To News

August 07, 2019

We Salute You!

Mo Fam!  I decided to make this post a kudos to all of you.  The Memorial Day Murph event, held this year on May 27th at Momentum, hosted two packed classes of CrossFitters and the general public, who came to pay respects to those who gave all in service of our country.  As an Iraq War Veteran, I was humbled during this event when I saw the turnout and the effort put into the Murph WOD by everyone who attended.  Every year, money is raised within our Momentum community and donated to groups who are on the front lines with veterans, guiding them through the struggles of returning from war, back to a community that oftentimes expects them to forget the traumatic events of operating within a war zone, and move on.  Our CrossFit community hosts this event every year as a symbolic gesture that communicates to veterans such as myself, that you are willing to carry the burdens of these memories with us, and that you are invested in us as community members.  This year we raised $750.00 for the Eau Claire County Veteran’s Service Office.  Let me tell you a little about what that money has gone to.